Taste of Bloomington Saturday

the taste

Hey SCCAP and its supporters, who’s going to the Taste of Bloomington Saturday?

As a B-Town native, it’s an event I’ve enjoyed since it started in 1981. For me, it’s a place I see old friends, sometimes for the only time all year,  and love checking out one of my favorites of Bloomington’s assets, its delicious variety and abundance of restaurants.

As a bonus, a portion of the proceeds for the event, which draws more than 5,000 people a year, are donated to the Hoosier Hills Food Bank and the Community Kitchen of Monroe County.

Here’s the scoop on this year’s event:

The 27th Annual Taste of Bloomington will take place on June 20th, from 3 to 11 pm at Showers Common (7th & Morton Streets).

Tickets will be available on the day of the event.

Admission prices are $6 per person; children under 12 are free!

All food items will be priced at $3 or less.

Taste of Bloomington is a non-smoking event.

Parking is available in City garages at the following locations: 7th & Walnut Streets – 4th & Walnut Streets – 7th & Morton Streets

8 Responses to Taste of Bloomington Saturday

  1. Christine says:

    Cheeseburger in Paradise is supposed to be serving Key Lime Pie! It is the best!

  2. doug4sccap says:

    Christine, I’ve got tragic news. This is an odd coincidence that I know this, but I talked with a Cheeseburger in Paradise manager last night who happened to mention that they were planning on having the Key Lime Pie, but then decided against it. The only item they’re going to have at the Taste (at least according to what I was told) is their mini cheeseburgers. I like those little burgers, but I’m sorry they’re not going to have your pie!

  3. Christine says:

    I am heartbroken; oh well, there will be many other things to try

  4. Kathleen says:

    I’ve never been before. Isn’t that crazy!! I’ve lived in Bloomington my entire life. Maybe I’ll check it out this year. Sounds like there is going to be lots of tasty food.

  5. Christine says:

    Someone is trying to get me to volunteer some time for the taste. If that comes through I will be there. I am still not over the Key Lime Pie.

  6. doug4sccap says:

    Hope I see some of you there. I imagine we can find something to help make up for that Key Lime Pie, Christine. I’ll be trying to decide between my old favorites like Jankos, Siam House, Trojan Horse, Upland Brewery, Mother Bear’s and Samira; as well as a couple of new favorites that I just tried recently, Basil Leaf and El Norteno.

  7. […] As a bonus, a portion of the proceeds for the event, which draws more than 5,000 people a year, are donated to the Hoosier Hills Food Bank and the Community Kitchen of Monroe County. The Read more at https://insccap.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/taste-of-bloomington-tomorrow/ […]

Leave a Reply

