Head Start

Head Start teachers receive scholarships

Joshua Sky Adams, Michelle Axsom, Jeanne Bradbury, Amy Fisher, Lisa Freeman, Lee Ann Moore, Genevieve Morse-Arnold, Shakay Norris, Kris Rundell, Delaney Salazar, Vanessa Stout are teachers at SCCAP Head Start who have been awarded a scholarship through the T.E.A.C.H, Early Childhood® INDIANA Project, sponsored by the Indiana Association for the Education of Young Children.

Some recipients will be working  towards the Childhood Development Associate Credential others are working toward an Associates Degree in Early Childhood Education.   The scholarship award will pay a portion of the tuition and books and provide a travel stipend. As part of the scholarship award program, SCCAP Head Start will pay a portion of the cost of tuition. In return, the scholarship recipients will make a commitment to continue teaching at the Center for an additional year.

The T.E.A.C.H. (Teacher Education And Compensation Helps) Early Childhood® INDIANA project serves as an umbrella for a variety of educational scholarship opportunities for people working in licensed, registered or exempt child care centers and homes in Indiana. In 1998, the Indiana Association for the Education of Young Children (IAEYC) received funding from the Indiana Child Care Fund Board, Inc. a public/private partnership launched in December, 1997 by Governor Frank O’Bannon INDIANA project assists teachers, directors and family child care providers in continuing their professional development, provides increased compensation with more education, and requires that participants agree to remain in early childhood for a year following receipt of the scholarship.

Ruth Anderson, Amy Daugherty and Jeff Tetrick are also taking Early Childhood classes to enhance their education and meet the new Head Start education guidelines.  They are utilizing other scholarship sources that have become available through ARRA funding.

Children are the main beneficiaries. They are able to bond with a provider who has made a commitment to the field, who is a specialist in early childhood education, who understands child development and who is sensitive to the needs of families.


1 thought on “Head Start teachers receive scholarships”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s